Ubuntu 9.04 Linux is awesome!

I’ve been using Ubuntu 8.04 Linux for the past year, but installed the new 9.04 on my new computer. I could not believe how easily everything worked.

Sound works, the wireless card works, suspend works, even the webcam works, with no fiddling whatsoever! Is this really Linux?

Linux just gets better and better every year, and I can honestly say now that Ubuntu now has far fewer problems on my laptop (emachines D620) than Vista – even though it was sold with Vista! And I don’t have to worry about viruses, or deal with Vista’s horribly annoying popup windows asking me if I really want to do everything…

The winds of change are blowing. I’m not saying that suddenly everyone will suddenly switch to Linux now just because Ubuntu has made a great distribution, we won’t see that until it is readily available in stores alongside Windows, but this feels like a turning point to me.

The question is slowly changing from “Is it worth the fuss moving to Linux?”, to “Is it worth the fuss staying with Windows?”.

Well done Canonical for putting out such a well-polished free operating system.

If you like the sound of this, you can download a bootable (“live”) cd and see if it works on your computer without messing up Windows at all.

I just wish I could buy a laptop in New Zealand without being forced to pay Microsoft for Windows, when I won’t even use it. I’d much prefer to be giving that money to Canonical (who make Ubuntu).

11 Responses to “Ubuntu 9.04 Linux is awesome!”

  1. peterquixote Says:

    thanks dude, I installed this new quad core which was going to be able to do speeds of a zillion, and all it can do is run Vista. It doesn’t have time for me
    Vista is a dog, Windows and Microsoft are dogs, but everything comes packaged with the dog .
    Vista tells me i do not have permission to do anything,
    it asks me to try again, it closes down, everybody hates Vista.
    I have come to believe dude,
    downloading linux now,

  2. Phil Says:

    I’d had it after my PC got a virus from a memory stick despite having shelled out $$$ for spyware tools and antivirus licenses. Nothing could fix my PC, and when I went to re-install I simply couldn’t as the virus had screwed things up so badly. So Ubuntu….what a revelation. Fast, no viruses, easy to use. Very fast. My laptop (3 years old) runs faster than my mate’s brand new all bells and whistles running Vista. He is dumping Vista🙂

  3. Ross Kilbride Says:

    Hi!

    What webcam are you using in 9.04?

  4. Mr Dennis Says:

    Great to hear it’s working well for you Phil!

    Ross, I’m using the built-in webcam on my emachines D620 laptop.

  5. Geo Says:

    I can’t make my webcam work, but as a plus the sound(sunete) is working better on Ubuntu rather than XP

  6. Thin Smek Says:

    I think the reason Ubuntu has not taken the world by storm is that the programmers making Ubuntu are trying to do the marketing/advertising, and doing a bad job of it. Programmers are not sales persons! To get Ubuntu to the masses, Canonical needs a whole department of marketing to do the fantastic job the Windows and Mac commercials are doing to influence OS choices. Then maybe Ubuntu will be more widely accepted.
    Keep up the promotion of Ubuntu!

  7. anomnymus(sp) Says:

    Yay, another escaped windows!

  8. kevin Says:

    I have the same laptop with Jaunty, and cannot for the life of me get the Radeon drivers to work. How did you get it to work? I’m using Ubuntu 64, btw. Thanks for any tips.

  9. Mr Dennis Says:

    For me it all just worked – but I installed 32 bit, so that could make a difference. I can achieve a 1200 x 800 resolution with whatever default driver it picked. As I didn’t have to fiddle with it myself I can’t really help sorry. Have you checked Ubuntu Forums?
    http://www.ubuntuforums.org

  10. Mr Dennis Says:

    I mean 1280 x 800 of course!


Leave a Reply

